What I Miss…

There are a variety of things I miss back at home. Don’t get be wrong, Thailand is great! However, there are some comforts of home that I really, really miss! So here it goes… the things I miss:

  1. Hugs from my family and friends
  2. A fridge
  3. Ruffles Chips and Heluva Good Dip
  4. Drinking tap water
  5. Not having to be scared of what kind of toilet will be behind the door
  6. Driving my car
  7. Hot showers that warm me up rather than cold showers to cool me down
  8. Cooking and baking things
  9. Home cooked food
  10. My bed & my pillow
  11. Wearing make-up… it melts off my face here
  12. Yard work
  13. Curling up on the couch in the evening
  14. Chai Tea
  15. Cool summer nights (though they don’t seem to be having those back home)
  16. High-speed Internet that is in fact ‘HI-SPEED’
  17. Wearing long pants and still feeling cool
  18. Walking on carpet
  19. Bonfires with friends and family
  20. Movie nights with my sisters
  21. Sloppy kisses from my niece
  22. Driving around with good tunes with my little sister
  23. Taco soup with my older sister
  24. Sleeping in a basement, not on the 4th floor of a large building.
  25. Getting to choose what to wear to work and not being restricted by a uniform
  26. Random rides to town with my dad
  27. Sunday morning breakfasts with my parents and Harry and Martha (look Harry… you made the blog!)
  28. Breakfast cereal and fresh milk
  29. Living in a small town
  30. Not having to constantly struggle through the language barrier, though it has turned out to be quite hilarious on quite a few occasions!
  31. Getting my hair cut! I have come this far, so I may as well get my hair cut in a place where there is no language barrier!
  32. Family dinners around the dining room table
  33. My friends! I miss playing pictionary, and going to McDonald’s for coffee and spending 3 hours there, and going to some friends place for dinner, and watching Disney movie’s, and just hanging out and enjoying each others company!
  34. My family’s house
  35. My family. It is actually hard to express how much I miss my family. I cannot explain how this experience has changed my perception of just how important family really is. I miss my parents, my sisters and brother-in-law, my niece, my grandparents, my aunts and uncles, my cousins. I now understand how lucky I am to have all of them in my life!

Though there are things that I miss back at home, I know there are things I will miss here in Thailand too. I’ll save that for another post though…

Leave a Reply

